New to Krav Maga

Posted by: bishop79

New to Krav Maga - 08/20/05 08:01 PM

Hello everyone! I'm new to Krav Maga , in fact I just took my intro class today and ran upon this board via Google.

I'd like to solicit an opinion on the dojo I decided to attend. It is the only one in my city ( Colorado Springs, CO ). I got the name of the dojo from www.kravmaga.com , which seems to be a reputable organization ( as much as can be expected in this world of McDojo's ). The specific school has two locations in my town, most Krav Maga classes are taught by the owner of the company. This dojo is also associated with the dojo's in norther colorado listed on both www.kravmaga.com and www.kravmagaco.com .

On to the more relevant stuff, the intro class! The class was 90 minutes long, did not have a stretching portion ( the instructor gave a little talk about this, " stretch before class, I don't want to waste your time with it during instruction time, but DO NOT for get to stretch " ) .

We went into a quick 3 minute warm up , the instructor stated this would be 5 or so minutes in normal classes, then onto the basic " passive stance " and " fighting stance ". Progressing from there to basic punching drills consisting of the basic jab/cross and combinations, emphasizing form and power ( quickness will come with practice ) .

From the punching drills we went into palm strikes and eye strikes, then onto basic kicking drills consisting of a front groin kick and a mid level front kick. From there we went into choke defense, front side and back, incorporating all of the offensive drills from earlier. ( i.e. front choke break, groin kick, step in punch like hell combo and almost every thinkable variation thereof ). Improvisation was also heavily emphasized.

We then hit the bags with our partners ( same ones we used for the above drills ) , and ended with wrist grab defense.

Overall , I'm impressed with this dojo, it is not exclusively Krav Maga but I don't see many of those anyway.