Yawara/Pocketstick

Posted by: Shomti

Yawara/Pocketstick - 08/15/08 01:43 AM

The yawara is likely one of the most versatile and portable weapons that you can study, next to the cane of course because you can't legally take a yawara onto a plane and you can in fact bring a cane on. Now, that's assuming people know what the yawara is for, and it could well be as inconspicuous as a small flashlight or a permanent marker.

As a martial artist and as an amateur woodworker, I'm fascinated with yawara and similar pocketsticks. Let's face it, they're the only things I'm skilled enough to make. Not to mention that they're incredibly simple in function once you figure out what they're used for, unlike nunchaku or katana.

I have a few questions about yawara, though. Firstly, is there an actual organized style based around them, or are they basically an instinctive weapon where you strike pressure points with no real pattern or style, thereby making them adaptable to any person's unique method of fighting? Secondly, I've looked around a lot, because I want to see about getting a higher quality yawara and comparing its form, price, and function against the ones I've made, and I haven't found too many made of exotic wood. There are endless waves of kubotan and keychains of aluminum, but if I look for wooden yawara I only find the generic ones that are advertised simply as being made of wood. There are exceptions, of course, but in no case do I find someone who specializes in yawara; highest quality exotic wood yawara always seem to come from companies or artists that primarily make highest quality exotic wood bokuto. But given the nature of exotic woods like ebony or kingwood, too brittle for a bokuto but hard and dense enough for yawara, why hasn't anyone tried to fill this niche in the market? After all, yawara and kubotan are highly popular self-defense instruments, carried even by people who received little to no instruction on how to use them.
Posted by: harleyt26