Need info on Kama"s

Posted by: marmaduke

Need info on Kama"s - 08/17/07 08:47 AM

Hi all. Can anyone tell me about Kama's? Looking to get a beginners set. This one caught my eye....
http://www.centurymartialarts.com/Defaul...57-25593b63d455

Would like to know the importance of the strap. Some have it some don't.
Posted by: Tashigae

Re: Need info on Kama"s - 08/17/07 12:06 PM

Merely a question of personal taste. The advantage of the strap is that you won't lose your weapon should you temporarily lose your grip, the advantage of not having any is that you can throw the kama (a number of schools teach such techniques). Unfortunately I studied nichogama but extremely shortly, so I'm sure some more competent members should be able to give you some more detailed information. I will just say that if I were you, I would focus on the pins holding the blade in place more than the strap. Two pins are HIGHLY preferable than one only. I don't how what to think about those kama you pointed out since that red chrome thing prevents me from seiing that clearly. I will just say that they look way too flashy to my taste (also not as much so as some I've seen , but it's just that: merely a personal taste. I clearly prefer a good ol' traditional looking set, but hey, to each their own...

One last thing: the first kanji on the handle is a bit too blurred on the photo for me to identify it, but the other two are bu jutsu which simply mean "martial arts".

Hope it helped!
Posted by: marmaduke

Re: Need info on Kama"s - 08/17/07 12:24 PM

Thanks for the input. I thought those Kama's were the "middle of the road". I'm certainly not interested in the $160 ones. Two pins it is. Thats one thing I didn't know. As for the kanji, since its from Centurys web site, mabe,"Century Martial Arts?"
Posted by: drawgs

Re: Need info on Kama"s - 08/19/07 12:16 AM