A question on what wpn im looking for???

Posted by: Shibbied

A question on what wpn im looking for??? - 09/24/06 07:08 PM

Ok im new to the MA scene.. Ive just decided to go JKD... But im also wanting to learn a wpn..Its a wooden wpn.. normally weild 2 of.. i think slightly bigger then nunchuka like a bo or jo staff but smaller... ne help would be greatly appreciated..
Posted by: Reiki

Re: A question on what wpn im looking for??? - 09/24/06 07:48 PM

could be an arnis stick?

They are a short stick generally about 500-600mm long mostly made from rattan.

Also known as kali or escrima sticks.

Re: A question on what wpn im looking for??? - 09/24/06 08:06 PM

Ah an escrima. TY very much.. now if u could help me with another ?.. weilding 2 escrima's would this be a good def and also offense against someone holding a sword??? block with one hit with other.... Considering both people are Average in there wpn skill...?

Re: A question on what wpn im looking for??? - 09/24/06 08:21 PM

Quote:

Ah an escrima. TY very much.. now if u could help me with another ?.. weilding 2 escrima's would this be a good def and also offense against someone holding a sword??? block with one hit with other.... Considering both people are Average in there wpn skill...?

nope

A sword is much longer than an escrima stick.

Think 3ft long RAZOR BLADE...

You don't want to be anywhere in its range, trust me!

You have to select a weapon that is longer than the sword to keep out of its range.

For best defense against the sword you need to learn how to defend with a jo.

Learning double stick techniques like single & double sinawali, redondo & banda banda are good for your reflexes. Remember sticks can be used for a variety of attacks and defenses including takedowns, locks etc.

Every strike has its counter, counter counter and counter counter counter... lots of fun!
Posted by: laf7773

Re: A question on what wpn im looking for??? - 09/24/06 08:59 PM