Hand Protection?

Posted by: Ronin1966

Hand Protection? - 12/13/05 01:38 PM

When practicing with "traditional" weapons do members use HAND protection of some type?

Or if your particular art instructs children (yes I know a generic no-no) in basic weapons practice, do they use hand protection of some type?

Solo practice, there is no functional need, but in application, or partner practice <shrug> I could be convinced of a valid potential need... pretty quickly.

Thoughts?
J
Posted by: harlan

Re: Hand Protection? - 12/13/05 01:45 PM

No. But I'm a newbie, and so 'I depend entirely on the kindness of others.'
Posted by: phoenixsflame

Re: Hand Protection? - 12/13/05 02:46 PM

No. This is my philosophy with it, basically what Harlan says. "Kindness of others" except... Well, not kindness but skill.

If you're doing Pairs practice Bunkai, then you should be moving slowly at first, and into more speed only when you are ready. Its for me, a practice of skill/timing and control. If you are doing Bo/Bo, then if your hands are far enough apart you shouldn't have a problem.

With the Sai's, if you're not improperly curling your pointer finger up. You'll be fine. Kama... well, Kama is a hard one to do against most things. Unless they're dulled, in which cause it takes a lot more control on the Kama side than any of the other weapons due to the position of the striking surface. Nunchaku are pretty easy to protect yourself and keep others safe.... Tonfa the same. Since all the blocks with the Tonfa are mainly against the forearm, (or braced by the other Tonfa/forearm, or are spinning catches, etc. Rarely is your hand in the direction of the attack)

Eku, well, truthfully I've never really seen much done in partners with the Eku. I've only seen one, and it was Sai-Sai/Eku...

Those are just my thoughts, i've never seen any actual Kumite with weapons that weren't foam based/pvc/boffer (for obvious safety reasons)
Posted by: Ives

Re: Hand Protection? - 12/13/05 03:48 PM