bruce lee and his nunchaku

Posted by: TwistingKick

bruce lee and his nunchaku - 09/20/05 08:58 AM

hey all

just wonderin if anyone knows where bruce lee learnt to use nunchaku, as they are not used in wing chun i figure he must have self taught himself(??). ne1 have any info on this??

cheerz
Posted by: webby

Re: bruce lee and his nunchaku - 09/20/05 11:32 AM

hi...i am a ver big fan of bruce lees!! bruce lee didnt just learn wing chun!! he studied alot of martial arts..and his teacher wasent just a wing chun teacher he also studied alot of martial arts!! so his teacher proberly taught him!!!
not sure!

Re: bruce lee and his nunchaku - 09/20/05 12:41 PM

i knew bruce lee studied lots of other arts but i thought his teacher was yip man?? i thought he was solely a wing chun teacher, maybe i am wrong??

was just wondering because he was so good at using nunchaku i figured the person who taught him to use them would be quite well known but i cannot find info in any of his books!!

neway, thanx for the reply
Posted by: trevek

Re: bruce lee and his nunchaku - 09/20/05 01:48 PM

Bruce Lee knocked around with a lot of MA guys in US, such as Jhoon Rhee, Chuck Norris et al. He studied a number of different things, hence JKD.
Posted by: funstick5000

Re: bruce lee and his nunchaku - 09/20/05 02:33 PM

bruce lee was taught by yip man who knew bruces father after bruce was beaten in a petty school gang fight. he never finished the training learning only 2/3s of the sticking hands. he went back to later to yip man to finish his training.

any nunchucka... he was introduced to them by probably his best known student (and probably the main reason we have jkd) dan inosanato who had lots of experience in kali and with other weapons. it was probably inosanto who trained lee in them but lee naturally surpassed most of his teachers quickley.

buy bruce lee: fighting spirit for any info on his life.

Re: bruce lee and his nunchaku - 09/20/05 04:36 PM