Sakugawa

Posted by: oonyuudou

Sakugawa - 08/08/05 03:47 PM

Hi all.
I am currently studying Sakugawa no Kun sho and I am trying to look into the bunkai. The problem is I seem to have hit a road block and I can't seem to get past it. I know this Kata is full of neat techniques but right now all I can see is the initial set of movements. I was kinda hopeing there might be someone out there who can shed a little light and point me in the right direction, so that I can get past this block!
Cheers
Posted by: Chatan1979

Re: Sakugawa - 08/08/05 08:41 PM

hello. I do Sakugawa no Kun sho and dai as well. Yes it is full of great techniques. However there are several versions of the kata out there. Im not sure which one you are doing. Sakugawa katas tend to be very aggressive so the movements are strong and quick. I can go into a few applications here, but again , since i dont know which one you are doing i dont know if it will help.
anyway here is one. the opening movement in which you step back on your left foot and execute an over head strike followed by a quick ude uke( or hook block as we call it sometimes). Now imagine your attacker is stepping in with a bo and making and over head strike as well with his left foot forward. As you step back to make your overhead strike step slightly at a 45degree angle. Instead of making your strike at his bo, make it at his front hand on the wrist. The follow up hook block you make can slip between his wrist and his bo. the hooking motion can disarm him or if he is still hanging on it makes a nice wrist lock.

like i said this kata is full of some devastating applications. Id love to help your with some more, but id need more of an idea of what version you are doing.
Posted by: oonyuudou

Re: Sakugawa - 08/09/05 06:40 PM

Hi,