What training injuries can I expect in JKD?

Posted by: MartialMack

What training injuries can I expect in JKD? - 07/21/06 02:40 PM

I'm really wanting to train JKD. I'm looking into training with a full instructor in PFS/JKD, but as a professional musician, I'm concerned about injuries.

Is there a balance I can strike with "going easy" yet still getting the proper physical conditioning? For instance, since wrist injuries are my biggest concern, maybe I can, for now, go lighter on punching, but heavier on elbows and knees and clinch work?

I feel with JKD especially, there is an emphasis on knowledge and "visualization," with conditioning as more of a support system-- meaning you don't have to train like a UFC or Pride fighter to be effective.

Help!
Posted by: MattJ

Re: What training injuries can I expect in JKD? - 07/21/06 03:04 PM

Depends on the school. My old JKD school did more with drills and pad work than actual sparring, so the injury rate was very low. Have you checked out any particular schools to see what they train like?
Posted by: Ayub

Re: What training injuries can I expect in JKD? - 07/21/06 05:28 PM

If that is a great concern to you, I would recommend strengthening your wrists. You can get great info on that in the strengthening forum. I would also suggest ensuring your punching technique is good, knowing this will diminish any danger to your wrists. You should keep your weight and forward momentum perpendicular to your knuckles, this way your wrist wont be forced to twist on impact, keeping your hand safe.

Dont punch into the air full force, I just injured my elbow by throwing a full force, fully snapped straight left in the air. Full force is for heavy bags and focus mitts or well protected full contact sparring.

Re: What training injuries can I expect in JKD? - 07/22/06 12:25 AM

Quote:

Depends on the school. My old JKD school did more with drills and pad work than actual sparring, so the injury rate was very low.