Breaking tradition

Posted by: jkdwarrior

Breaking tradition - 05/03/06 08:20 PM

Right so I studied traditional karate for seven years as a kid, and every single time I punched, I brought my other hand back towards my hip. Now I do only JKD and go to two classes a week.
It's also true that many martial arts classes have broken away from the traditional methods, because scientifically and mathematically this can improve the martial artist's potential.
What I can't help wonder though, is why this change didn't happen hundreds of years ago. I mean it was only after Bruce Lee showed us the way, that we all changed. Even when I was a kid, I taught myself differently than what the instructor taught, because when i was involved in Kumite (a sparring match for the non traditional MAist), I learned that it was better to keep a guard hand near my chin. I'm sure many people in the past would have noticied this also, but does anyone know why it didn't become the norm until very recently? Was Bruce merely the first to Declare it publicly? After all, he didn't invent JKD, but just noticed it, and told everyone. Were the practitioners of the past afraid? Did some people break away and start this kind of training but told no one? Has anyone else thought about this?
I suppose i'm kind of obliged to say here that it's the person, and not the style that determines the fight outcome blah blah blah, but like it or not, the MMA technique IS superior to that of the traditional styles. It's mathematical fact.
Posted by: MattJ

Re: Breaking tradition - 05/03/06 10:04 PM

That is a very good question. I never understood that myself. Even in the more progressive karate systems like American Kenpo, they still taught it using the hand-on-the-hip. Even though Ed Parker used to do western boxing!

Tradition, I guess.
Posted by: ShikataGaNai

Re: Breaking tradition - 05/03/06 10:06 PM