Training Routines

Posted by: DBZInspired

Training Routines - 05/17/05 07:32 PM

Please list your training routines for JKD.
If you can, list the amount of time you do each task.
I need some examples to follow since I'm new at this.
Posted by: Cord

Re: Training Routines - 05/18/05 01:01 PM

what does your JKD instructor advise?
Posted by: Austin

Re: Training Routines - 05/18/05 11:26 PM

If you haven't read any of the JKD books, there's one that has almost all training routines in it. Bruce Lee worked on his punch for two seperate days (not back-to-back), his legs two days, and sparring two other days. Just work out and stay in the best shape possible.
Posted by: JKogas

Re: Training Routines - 05/20/05 05:55 AM

We do a lot of different things while trying to simplify everything.

Three ranges: stand-up, clinch and ground fighting are all required by ANY decent JKD man worth his salt. So time is spent working on those things. However it is hard to do all of them justice in one session -- WHEN you're either teaching or, you're trying to learn. Thus we break them down into segments many times. This is just called "isolation" training and is critical for skill development.

We always start out working and warming up on focus pads. Done right, they can get you moving and get your heart beating. Then we progress to glove drills and light sparring. What occurs in those drills is limited only to one's imagination. However, there is almost always some level of resistance being offered by the individuals training.

Since we're training the three ranges, a session may look like this:

Shadow boxing
    Focus pad work (to develop combos and defensive structure)
    Glove drills (for combos and defense, done more alive now)
    Closing the distance
    Pummeling for control in the clinch
    Strikes from the clinch
    Takedowns from the clinch
    Working for dominant ground positions
    Fighting from dominant ground positions (which includes, striking and submissions)