Tao of JKD

Posted by: dragon_tail

Tao of JKD - 05/12/05 01:35 AM

My first post here
I've been doing JFJKD for almost 2 years now, and i was wondering how many people actually take Tao of JKD as a serious reference manual, as in, really read the stuff and try to apply. I'm asking because most of the people (excluding my sifu) say it's just a book and sohuldn't be taken seriously. But i actually read stuff like "tools", etc which contain a lot of usefull info, not just on the ones mindset, but actual techinque, footwork,etc.
So who's with me
Posted by: etaks86

Re: Tao of JKD - 05/12/05 02:09 AM

well since the book was wrote by the man that created jkd then yeah i would have to say that everything in the book should go hand in hand with your jkd training but that's my opinion. i mean tao of jkd was wrote by lee the founder and creater of jkd , i mean it's lee explaining jkd. so i would say that if your studying jkd then that book the tao of jkd should be your guide to jkd. anyway peace be with you

Re: Tao of JKD - 05/12/05 02:18 AM

yeah i read that last post wrong and had to edit it. anyway i hope you do well in your study of jkd. but like i said before i think if someone is studying jkd then tao of jkd should be their guide.
Posted by: Fluid_Motion

Re: Tao of JKD - 05/14/05 02:53 PM

the book wasn't written by him. he had no intention of publishing his notes.
Posted by: JKogas

Re: Tao of JKD - 05/14/05 03:48 PM

Quote:

the book wasn't written by him. he had no intention of publishing his notes.

It doesn't MATTER whether he intended on publishing it or not - those were his THOUGHTS. It would seem to carry even MORE weight considering that those were his inner/private revelations.

-John
Posted by: Fluid_Motion

Re: Tao of JKD - 05/14/05 04:10 PM