JKD and Thai Boxing

Posted by: pvina

JKD and Thai Boxing - 05/04/05 11:48 PM

Hi,

I'm new to martial arts and am interested in Jeet Kun Do. I signed up for a "blended" martial arts class that claims to be in the spirit of JKD at the Degerberg acadamy in Chicago, but the classes are based more in Thai boxing than Chinese arts. I've read some of Bruce Lee's notes on Thai Boxing though, with such statements as "uppercut almost nonexistant, left jab is poor, hook is inadequate" and am wondering what the differences are in the basic styles. I'm not talking about which way is "better, I'd just like to know the physiological differences in the basic punches between the Chinese and Thai styles. Could anyone explain Lee's disdain for Thai punching?

Thanks
Posted by: Laughing Dingo

Re: JKD and Thai Boxing - 05/05/05 07:52 AM

Bruce's critique of Thai Boxing punches is lifted directly from a book called Asian Fighting Arts by Draeger and Smith. Who knows if Bruce really had much knowledge of thai boxing at the time he wrote that. His drawing of thai techniques are traced from pictures in that book too. I'm sure thai boxing has progressed further in its punching skills since the 60's. Bruce Lee's JKD didn't have much if anything to do with thai boxing, it is Dan Inosanto that started relating thai boxing with concepts of JKD. JKD punches are more refined and delivered in a manner that utilizes optimum power.
Posted by: Bryagh

Re: JKD and Thai Boxing - 05/06/05 03:40 AM

Thai Boxing really has nothing to do with JKD. The styles really couldn't be more different. Concept JKD people, like the school you mentioned just throw the JKD in there to attract people, and teach nothing that Bruce did.
Posted by: Chen Zen

Re: JKD and Thai Boxing - 05/07/05 03:41 AM