Footwork

Posted by: Anonymous

Footwork - 09/30/04 10:17 PM

I have accomplished much through self-taught martial arts, and sparring with friends, "friends" and "not so friendly" people, but my footwork is still lacking. So, if anyone could give me some pointers on extra drills to through into the mix, I will be more than happy to try them out. (I was just whomped by a friend today)My friend fought a superb kicking style and after my 10th consecutive stop-kick I started loosing balance. This is where she, yes she, took care of me. Seriously, any pointers would help.

Humbly I thank any replyers
~Brad~

Re: Footwork - 10/01/04 07:26 AM

Train under an instructor.
Posted by: otobeawanker

Re: Footwork - 10/01/04 04:28 PM

Aye under an instructer is preferable.

If you have a good understanding of body mechanics, pysics, and some professional training. You can self teach rather well. Perfect technique should always be product number one.

Sparring like your doing is the key. I spar with plenty of different friends/martial artists in my spare room. If you spar the same person long enough you will adapt to their techniques, and vice versa. This is good for developing as a fighter. It forces you to adapt, expand and evolve. Keep it up.

As far as your footwork is concerned. Are you looking for kicks, or defensive techniques?

As far as kicks go, there is really only two I use in sparring. Push kick and Thai kick. They are simple, reliable and effective.