Re: Finally

Posted by: White-Tiger

Re: Finally - 08/12/04 06:48 AM

Looks like this is going to be a great board. Looking forward to seeing some inteligent posts around here. Congrats on the moderator position Chen Zen im sure you will do a great job.

Chris
Posted by: Anonymous

Re: Re: Finally - 08/12/04 09:37 AM

Allright Chen you need to start us off with a few good threads.

I posted in another forum asking for your help on footwork drills (my footwork is terrible). Just thought I'd re-post it here in case you don't look at the other often.
Posted by: Chen Zen

Re: Re: Finally - 08/12/04 11:01 PM

One of my favorite is a drill where you pivot on one foot at 90 degree angles. It test the balance and the footwork and this is a move that is often overlooked for defense. Also I do shuffling drills, up and down the yard. I have a waveMaster, and I stand it in an empty room and box circles around it. Jumprope and dodgeball help too.
Posted by: Anonymous

Re: Re: Finally - 08/13/04 12:49 AM

[QUOTE]Originally posted by DragonFire1134:
I feel it doesn't matter what style you train in, the philosophy and concepts of JKD can be extremely helpful, and a real eye opener. JKD can be applied to any art in the Combat world. [/QUOTE]

I concur. If you see different styles as different armies or different models of small arms, JKD is a refined system of principles and strategy that anyone can use. I must say our dojo's Sensei should get some credit, he is open minded and introduced us all to JKD and Bruce Lee.

I think as long as people fight full contact, they arrive at a psoition somewhat similar to the principles of JKD anyway.

I have no doubt through my instructors, JKD has influenced me anyway.