starting a non profit

Posted by: jaedeshi

starting a non profit - 12/28/13 10:48 AM

Hello I would appreciate any thoughts, comments and advice on the subject. I have been teaching karate for many years now for free. Accepting donations if given with most years not having donations cover my costs for giving the classes. While I don't mind putting in for the rest to cover the overhead it would also help if I could write off such expenses on my income taxes. Other advantages would be to put myself as an paid employee so I can deduct my own training costs and other MA related expenses as it would now be my profession. My students could now also write off their donations. My main purpose is to spread the martial arts and the NPO model seems perfect for my goals. Thanks for your thoughts.
Posted by: Dobbersky

Re: starting a non profit - 12/30/13 07:42 AM

You need to register as a Not for Profit Organisation.

Make sure that the School is a stand alone organisation and you and the other "Staff" are listed as volunteers. I'm not sure about the US but in the UK it means that The school is not liable as a whole for any taxes due, just for income into its own account. any out of pocket expenses by volunteers I believe are concidered and are acknowledge by any tax returns etc on the individual not thew school.

It's quite complex but if you have people who can assist Free of Charge with setting this up.

First thing is a Bank Account in the clubs name with more than 1 signatory. (this could mean every payment cheque needs 2 signatures to process - thus protecting the little money there is and preventing unnecessary payments of "advertising" etc)

Wish you luck my friend

Re: starting a non profit - 12/30/13 11:52 AM

Originally Posted By: Dobbersky
You need to register as a Not for Profit Organisation.