lost in a maze

Posted by: trevek

lost in a maze - 10/12/06 04:50 PM

I'm kind of lost in a maze at the moment and I wonder what other people think.

I moved to Poland over 4 years ago and I've been teaching English for four years. This is my only job and the only one I can do. Because of the way private schools work, ie after school and work time, I find my opportunities to train in a club severely limited (all the clubs train at the times I work).There are no day-time clubs or gyms operating here and during the summer most clubs close because they are training in school buildings.

I've tried getting hours to fit to a club but joss seems to manouver around me and their hours change as mine do.

example: I tried to train TKD, but the ITF club operates at a time I can't hope to attend. I trained WTF for a while but likewise, the times of work got in the way.

I started with a TJJ club and it was great, but it folded. I've had no contact with the sensei since.

I trained capoierra but both work hours and a back problem got in the way.

Eventually I began to train one-on-ne with a Chen Tai Chi instructor but this is not as frequent as I'd like because of our own timetables (and it is expensive, one class costs about as much as a month's club training). I began training in the club my sifu started but once again, shifting hours have ruled this out. He suggests individual training but I'm getting frustrated by the slow progress I'm making (I've been training over a year but still haven't got around to application etc).

He runs a White Crane Kung Fu club too, but does not think I should train WCKF.

I enjoy the TC and would like to progress but I really miss the atmosphere of club training. During the summer I was back in UK and enjoyed training at a TKD club for a few weeks.

I now have a slight possibility of joining a Kyokoshin karate club (hours permitting) but I'm not sure about shifting styles yet again, particularly as next year might see the hours shift again.