What is the proper time to begin teaching?

Posted by: MrBerzerker

What is the proper time to begin teaching? - 04/15/06 02:24 AM

Greetings. I've been doing TKD for the majority of my life, but as a kid things just kept happening to delay my progress in rank. Teachers left, for different towns, I moved away, or my parents ran into money trouble and cut TKD from the bills. After a four year break from it I graduated from high school, and found the time and money to do it agian. Only I had to start over at white belt. So anyway this time around I am pretty sure I can get my BB, because I am in charge of getting to classes instead of my parents/instructor. Eventually I'd like to start teaching TKD in a school of my own. (This probably won't be until at least ten years from now.) I'd like to start up a TKD school that focuses mostly in self defense (because there are so few around now).

Funny thing is I've noticed that in certian areas of the country there are these mega-schools with seventh dan BBs as owners. Would starting a school up as a third or fourth dan BB be disrespectful in anyway? On one side I don't want to have to wait until I'm an old geezer to teach, but on the other I don't want to look like a Mcdojo reject with no respect for his superiors.
Posted by: MattJ

Re: What is the proper time to begin teaching? - 04/15/06 10:40 AM

Many associations consider 3rd -5th degree to be acceptable instructor levels to start their own schools. You may want to try to "wet your feet" by teaching at a community center or YMCA, on a smaller scale.
Posted by: MrBerzerker

Re: What is the proper time to begin teaching? - 04/15/06 12:22 PM

Ya. I'll definatly do some volunteer stuff for a few years.
Posted by: tkd_high_green

Re: What is the proper time to begin teaching? - 04/17/06 02:17 PM