martial games for kids?

Posted by: Anonymous

martial games for kids? - 10/18/04 02:31 AM

Hi,

next week I am supposed to be taking 3 self defence classes for kids in the school holidays at the local leisure centre as part of the day camp scheme. (8-13 year olds)

does anyone have any ideas for martial games they could do?

Also if any of you teach children what kind of techniques do you get them to practice mainly? what do they enjoy most?

I have taken these classes before but not for some time and need a little prompt with ideas so I can structure a plan for the day.

any ideas welcome- thanks very much, Charlie.
Posted by: still wadowoman

Re: martial games for kids? - 10/18/04 02:59 AM

Hi Charlie,

This is where I disagree with most people that teach children -I don't like games in the dojo (miserable old cow that I am [IMG]http://www.fightingarts.com/forums/ubb/biggrin.gif[/IMG] ).

Are these complete beginners or are they existing students coming for extra training?
Sharon

Re: martial games for kids? - 10/18/04 05:54 AM

Yeah I understand what you mean totally! it is all part of the childrens holiday activities, like a day camp thing where they do different activities through out the day- so they are not martial arts students but it is like a taster session for the kids to see what martial arts are like but is classed as self defence- the managers always like some form of 'game' type activity.

so I was planning to do a few techniques then a game then a few techniques and so on...

however if I was doing this full time then it would not be like this-just pure martial training
Posted by: still wadowoman

Re: martial games for kids? - 10/18/04 07:28 AM

Charlie, I am not being difficutlt, or at least not deliberately and most people will disagree with what I am about to say.