Standardized Martial Arts.

Posted by: Anpadh

Standardized Martial Arts. - 07/27/04 09:27 AM

While discussing other topics, I was forced to do some research about Martial Arts, in general. I discovered, to my suprprise, that there is no standardized format to the teaching or learning of Martial Arts.

For instance, whether you get an M.S. in Math at Harvard or at Stanford or at Oxord or at the Sorbonne, basically, it has the same value as they all teach basically the same thing in more or less the same time. Everyone has to study real and imaginary numbers, statistics and probability and so on. This is not the case in MA.

I am not an expert in MA but common sense dictates that there can only be a limited number of physical skills necessary in any MA. A person has only a limited number of body parts and they all function in the same way, really, for everyone. While different MAs may focus on different things, why isn't there a place that allows one to learn the basics necessary to ANY martial art, the way one completes 12 years of school, to acquire the basic skills to study any discipline, in college? It seems to me that developing speed, power, agility/flexibility, and analytical skills would be the crucial skills required in any type of self-defense, physical or intellectual. Once one has these skills, it does not really matter what specific technique one uses to employ them.