QUESTIONING OF INSTRUCTORS KNOWLEDGE

Posted by: IRONMAN

QUESTIONING OF INSTRUCTORS KNOWLEDGE - 08/11/03 11:21 AM

IM CURRENTLY STUDYING KUNG FU ANFTER 2 YEAR OF TKD. DURING CLASS A FEW DAYS AGO WE WERE PRACTICING A PARTICULAR SELF DEFENCE MOVE AND THE INSTRUCTOR TOLD US TO ADD OUR OWN FINISH TO IT. SO AFTER EXECUTING THE TECHNIQUE I BUT MY PARTNER IN AN ARM BAR AND PROCEDED TO TAKE HIM TO THE FLOOR. THE WHOLE ACTION WAS PREFORMED FAST,POWERFUL, AND SMOOTH. THAT DAYS CURRENT INSTRUCTOR WHOS LIKE 17 AND BEEN STUDYING FOR 2 YEARS COMES OVER AND TELLS ME THAT MY MOVE ISNT GOOD AND SHOWS ME A BUNCH OF OTHER MOVES THAT TOTOALY SUCK. MY PARTNER WHO I WAS PARACTICING WITH HAS ARMS LIKE PIPE CLEANERS (PERFECT FOR ARM BARS). ANY WAYS THE SIFU COMES ALONG AND SHOWS US A FINISHING MOVE FOR THE TECHNIQUE WHICH HAPPENS TO BE "THE EXACT SAME MOVE I USED IN THE FIRST PLACE". I WAS A PISSED BUT DIDNT SAY ANYTHING EVEN THOUGH THIS ISNT THE FIRST TIME ITS HAPPENED. DO I HAVE A LEGITAMIT REASON TO BE ANGRY OR IS MY EGO TAKING OVER. ALSO SHOULD I BE QUESTIONING THE QUALITY OF THE SCHOOL BEING THAT MOST OF IF NOT ALL THE CLASSES ARE TAUGHT BY INSTRUCTORS AND NOT THE SIFU.
Posted by: Anonymous

Re: QUESTIONING OF INSTRUCTORS KNOWLEDGE - 08/11/03 02:44 PM

Hi Ironman.
Would you mind turning the capital locks off, it looks like you are shouting. Thanks.

To answer your question, it is not at all uncommon for instructors under the sifu to take classes.
I am only a second dan in karate and run my own lessons four times a week.
I still have a lot to offer them and they do get the chance to regularly train with much more experienced instructors.

The question of disagreeing with a technique is a tricky one. Many senseis discourage questions that they think undermine their authority.