Motivation to train

Posted by: madhag

Motivation to train - 05/01/03 05:39 PM

Hi, I'm new to this forum, and I have a question to ask of those who are teachers, or have trained a long while. I have been training in Kajukenbo for seven years now. In the last 3 years or so, my motivation has dropped, in the last year I have little motivation to make it to class. I used to train at least 4 days a week back then; it was my life. Now, I've "grown up" a little, and juggling 2 jobs and maintaining relationship, friends, hobbies, etc etc. I'm exhausted at nights, but I know if my motivation is up nothing can stop me from training. I'm frustrated at myself that I'm hitting this wall. Martial arts has always been natural to my body; I advanced quickly and easily through the ranks in my gung ho days. Now, as I'm aware of my strength I'm also more sensitive to my weaknesses and fears. There is no doubt MA has taught me what true power and grace is and made me a stronger person. Facing up to my inner demons is extremely difficult in training. Has any of you had similar experiences where you lost motivation in training? How did you feel, what helped you through it, where are you at now? I know I'm at a greater learning curve now, and I do not foresee MA out of my life. It's just difficult to have no motivation. I'd like to hear your stories.
Posted by: Anonymous

Re: Motivation to train - 05/01/03 06:03 PM

Hi Madhag, welcome to the boards [IMG]http://www.fightingarts.com/forums/ubb/smile.gif[/IMG]

I have lost motivation lots of times for many differnt reasons and I have seen many of my students go through it.

I would suggest, talking to your sensei, as she/he knows you as we can not and will have a clearer idea what could be causing this.

What may help is thinking about why you became so motivated in the first place. And why have you lost that motivation?

Do you have a grading scheduled soon? Are you nervous about it?