CHANGING STLYES

Posted by: IRONMAN

CHANGING STLYES - 04/28/03 01:13 PM

I RECENTLY MADE THE SWITCH FROM TAE KWON DO TO KUNG FU. I STUDIED TKD FOR 2 YEARS AND FELT THE I WAS A SATIFACTORY SKILLS IN THE ART. I DONT CARE MUCH ABOUT RANK SO I DIDNT PURSUE MY BLACK BELT WICH I WOULD HAVE GOTTEN IN A YEAR, I BECAME BOARD WITH THE CLASS CURICULIM, AND THE STLY IN GENERAL. I STILL TRAIN ON MY OWN KEEPING THE SKILLS I'VE LEARNED. I RECENTLY SWITCHD TO HUNG GAR KUNG FU WITCH I FIND VERY CHALLENGEING. WHAT I WANT TO KNOW IS IT POSSIBLY TO MIX MY TRAINING WITH BOTH ARTS OR SHOULD I DEDICATE MY SELF TO STRICTLY KUNG FU. MY MAIN GOAL IS TO BECOME AN ALL AROUND SKILLED MARTIAL ARTIST.
Posted by: Anonymous

Re: CHANGING STLYES - 04/28/03 01:33 PM

My personal feeling is that although originally each style of Martial Art was complete in itself, over the years it has inevitably been diluted. Each instructor puts their own slant on what they are teaching.
My background is in Wado which I love passionately and hold a second dan in. However, In recent years I have trained with a group that study Yoseikan Budo. I have learnt much from this style that I believe compliments what I already knew, at the same time as increasing my knowledge of Wado.
I have also trained with a freestyle karate club and learnt from them.
I think that you should take from any art that which works for you.
It is my opinion that if, as you say, your ultimate goal is to become an all round skilled martial artist, you should consider at some stage, adding a grappling art to your current training.
Sharon

[This message has been edited by wadowoman (edited 04-28-2003).]

Re: CHANGING STLYES - 04/28/03 01:44 PM

THANKS FOR YOUR INPUT