My training paid off

Posted by: screamingflea

My training paid off - 12/22/08 01:16 PM

Hi,

This is my first post here. I'm a total novice to MA, having taken just a month of Systema. But I had an obnoxious situation the other night, and the more I think about it, the more pleased I am with how it turned out.

A couple weeks ago we did an exercise in class where the main point was that in a given situation you'll find an "empty space" you can turn to your advantage, either for escape or an opportunity to maneuver. At the time I thought it was a nice metaphor for life, and it is. But it worked very well for me the other night.

My neighbor came over, and I only realized after I'd let him in that he was completely sh1tfaced. Oops. He was a sappy sentimental drunk, and he started in with the "Oh, I'm so lonely, I really like you, did you do something with your hair? It looks nice. Won't you spend Christmas with me? Boo hoo hoo, I'm so lonely, and you're so pretty. Let's watch this movie I brought over. Boo hoo."

As this is going on, he's right in my face (and smelling like a barnyard.) I keep taking steps back, and he keeps stepping forward. I realize that as tiny as my apartment is, two more steps back would have me sitting down on the couch, which was not an option under the circumstances. I could have told him to back up, but he was too out of touch to have heard the message. So ... what did my teacher say that day? There was just enough space between him and the bookshelf for me to step *forward* past him and back toward the door. He followed me like the Pied Piper, and that was that.

(I still haven't seen him to tell him not to come back. He's probably still hung over 3 days later.)