Guy in Kungfu classes competing with me?

Posted by: VietPanda

Guy in Kungfu classes competing with me? - 09/08/07 12:58 AM

I've been learning Praying Mantis Kungfu for 2 yrs now, and was enjoying it for the first yr, until this guy 'W' joined the class, and now he just competes with me at everything, even though I don't actually wanna compete.
For example, I show him a front kick, and then he trains the kick at home virtually 24/7 just to do it better than me
Then i show him a magic trick, and he goes online to search how to do it, and comes back the next week to show everyone how I did it, fully taking away all the entertainment value in it.
I really do not have the intention of 'competing back' for anything, and i don't show off my stuff modestly.
I've told him many times not to do this kind of thing, but he wont' listen, and I've tried avoiding him, but he just keeps annoying me to show him something else he can copy off me and say it's his own.

Why would someone do this, and what should I do?
This has been bothering me for a while, and if anyone can help me, it would be GREATLY appreciated

Thanks a lot in advance,
VietPanda
Posted by: MastaFighta

Re: Guy in Kungfu classes competing with me? - 09/08/07 01:35 PM

Talk with your instructor and explain to him/her the situation.

It's not uncommon to find people like that though. They come into class wanting to beat everyone in everything, regardless if they just joined. However, they are wasting their time in my opinion. They are too focused on being better than someone else, rather than focusing on becoming better than they were when they first started.
Posted by: cxt

Re: Guy in Kungfu classes competing with me? - 09/08/07 04:28 PM

Viet

Just stop showing him anything at all--no matter how much he "annoys" you.

Or you could take a page from his book and use HIM to motivate YOU.
If you know he is working to be better than you---then use that motivate you to work even harder so you'll be better.