Opinion Validation

Posted by: TheKen

Opinion Validation - 01/29/09 11:34 AM

So my wife and I are thinking of taking Aikido classes. Her background is some Tai-bo and of course some of what I have taught her. My background is, well to keep it simple I am proficient in Ninjitsu and Western Boxing and have some experience in several other martial arts. Been training on and off for about 20 years.

Anyway been researching a bit about Aikido, and I think the principles of balance, harmony, and peaceful conflict resolution resonate well with where I am in life now and what would benefit my wife and I. I also like the idea of being able to start something in essence that is new from the beginning together with her.

If anyone here is from the Raleigh NC area we have found that the White Tiger Dojo offers Aikido classes and a preschool program (non-descript art) that allows us to make the dojo experience a family thing. They seem to be the only place in the area that offers such a combination as most Aikido schools list the youngest starting age in the 7-8 year range. It seems a bit McDojo for me but for now it would at least make a suitable starting point.

Anyway our goals for it are some exercise and a good stress release activity to share. As well of course with the general benefits most martial arts practice entails.

So to sum if anyone thinks I am on the right page and of the right mindset approaching this it would be good to know and of course if anyone local has experience with this dojo and/or the instructors that would be good as well.

Thanks,
Ken
Posted by: Ames

Re: Opinion Validation - 01/29/09 12:34 PM