Experiences with high ranked senseis

Posted by: 9diov

Experiences with high ranked senseis - 11/17/06 12:38 PM

It would be fun to hear about experiences with high ranked senseis. I'm new to aikido, so the highest ranked senseis whom I was taught were 6th dan. Their styles were very different. How 'bout yours ?
Posted by: Canyon

Re: Experiences with high ranked senseis - 11/19/06 11:58 AM

Welcome to the forums.

I've certainly been to seminars with 7th dans teaching; I always seem to be out of town when H. Saito comes to the U.S. though. Anyway, I don't have any amazing stories or anything really incredible I've learned from them; they're just amazing to watch. In fact I'd say I've learned more from watching lower ranked students try to do techniques that don't work out very well (myself included). When shihans do techniques their taisabaki is spot on so they make the techniques look very easy. Sometimes it's hard to learn from that. Just my 2 cents.
Posted by: iaibear

Re: Experiences with high ranked senseis - 11/19/06 09:31 PM

I have been to several seminars where highly ranked sensei were teaching. They all impressed me with their ability on the floor and their friendliness and humility off.
Posted by: wristtwister

Re: Experiences with high ranked senseis - 11/20/06 10:06 PM

I agree that all the high ranking people I've played with are both competent and excellent technicians of the arts. My question would be "if you don't have the same level of skills as the "high ranking teacher", what does it matter how 'high ranking' the guy is that teaches you the skills?" I still learn from almost everyone I play against, I just learn different things from the high ranking guys.

"When you don't know where you're going, any road will take you there"... so if you're a rank beginner, a shodan can teach you as much as a hachidan until you have some skills to reference your training back to...

Posted by: iaibear