Complimentary Arts

Posted by: Joe Jutsu

Complimentary Arts - 11/29/05 06:09 PM

Hello everyone.

I was wondering if anyone on this forum has picked up any other martial arts to compliment their aikido. Or did you maybe pick aikido to compliment another MA. Why did you pic the particular MA that you did to compliment aikido. Was it to gain striking skills that you feel that you lacked, or maybe it was to get some idea of what it is like to be on your back in an unfavorable situation?

I will start with myself. AT roughly the beginning of the summer I started practicing Eishin Ryu Iaido. For those who do not know what that is, it is one of the oldest Iaido schools, which is basically a meditative art involving drawing a sword (iaito) from the sheath (saya), cutting in the same motion, finishing off the imagined opponent(s), letting the blood slide off and replacing the sword in a dignified manner. We do a little Katori Shinto Ryu Iaido as well, which includes work with bokken and bo. These arts were available at my dojo, so they were sort of easy to get into (except the price for an entry level iaito is about $450!!). I started it because I really admire the aikido of those who practice these other, more esoteric arts. I cannot really tell if they have been positively effecting my aikido yet, except that my bokken work has defiinitely improved. But since the training is very mental, I suppose to some degree the deep calm that we strive for has been evident in my aikido.

I'm curious as always to read your replies.

Joe.
Posted by: xuzen_628

Re: Complimentary Arts - 11/30/05 12:34 AM

A complete newbie to the art of Shindo Muso Ryu Jodo, the art of Japanese stick fighting; my base art being Yoshinkan-ryu aikido.

Jodo, IMO enhances my maai, courage i.e, improve my ability to avoid flinching from an attack, coordination, balance and footwork.

Jodo cover holes in my aikido by helping me in my offensive skill. It also improves by forearm muscle and striking power.