Question for Aikidoist

Posted by: Intrepidinv1

Question for Aikidoist - 07/30/05 11:08 PM

I have a question for my Aikido practicing friends of the FightingArts Forum:

When I studied Aikido for a short period of time in a particular school there was a lot of techniques that involved the attacker grabbing the wrist of the defender. The defender was not taught to reverse the grip or take hold of the attacker in any way (on most techniques, not all.) Is this a common practice in all Aikido schools or is this different in the different styles of Aikido?
Posted by: eyrie

Re: Question for Aikidoist - 07/31/05 12:07 AM

Can I just say that it is no different in the jujitsu that I do. All we're doing is looking at one small aspect of the totality of a technique. When we do a set defense from a wrist grab, we are only working one small aspect of the technique.

This is because of the multitude of possible variations and potential responses that can arise from that one attack - not to mention the multitude of potential responses you can go into in the middle of and on exiting the technique.

Once you understand the basic technique from a wrist grab, the same technical response to a strike is exactly the same, except the entry is slightly different, depending on the attack.

You before you can run, you must first learn to take baby steps.
Posted by: csinca

Re: Question for Aikidoist - 07/31/05 02:29 AM

Quote:

When I studied Aikido for a short period of time in a particular school there was a lot of techniques that involved the attacker grabbing the wrist of the defender. The defender was not taught to reverse the grip or take hold of the attacker in any way (on most techniques, not all.) Is this a common practice in all Aikido schools or is this different in the different styles of Aikido?

In general I think you would be safe to assume that there will be a lot of wrist grabbing by teh attacker (uke) and that the defender (nage) will not be looking to grab back.