Too tense of an opponent

Posted by: Duce

Too tense of an opponent - 07/24/05 09:00 AM

I tried to practice my Aikido with a friend and instead of going with the technique he tensed up and it was hard to do it at all. I'm just a beginner, but what do you do in those situations? Let go and back off? Wait for something else to present itself?

I've heard a lot of people talk and even read some forums that doubt Aikido as a real street defense. I highly doubt it because it does seem to work, but what about this?
Posted by: Canyon

Re: Too tense of an opponent - 07/24/05 04:05 PM

Hi Duce,
After a lot of practice I've actually found it to be easier to do a lot to techniques when your opponent is tense; they're balance is often much easier to break. But this takes some time to develop.
Find someone who will safetly train with you. Let them grab you really really hard and tense. Then you relax as much as possible. No very slowly feel your way through the technique. If you feel yourself tensing up or not taking your opponent's balance, stop, relax, and feel your way through again. Concentration on keeping extension, and all the other basics.

The other thing to remember if that if someone's really tense, you will have to pick you technique based on their posture, momentum, etc. For example if they are learning really far forward, instead of doing an iriminage and trying to lift them all the way back up again, keep them going forward with a kaitenage.