The Pirinciple of Shuchu-ryoku

Posted by: KiDoHae

The Pirinciple of Shuchu-ryoku - 05/22/05 03:11 PM

Hello all,

As a hapkido stylist I understand that there are basic principles that are shared by it and aikido. In learning it as an aki art there are also distinct cultural differences that add it's own texture. One of these, I think, is that of "shuchu-ryoku" .

In my experience the teaching of shuchu-ryoku is not, at least in a concious way, a part of hapkido training. I would not say that "concentrating one's power" is not a part of training but the notion of that type of power is taught by generating power through circular movement itself.

While I understand the principle, can some aikidoka take a minute to explain how this teaching is explained in the dojo?

Looking forward to your replies

Thanks
Posted by: eyrie

Re: The Pirinciple of Shuchu-ryoku - 05/25/05 12:58 AM

I missed this thread and didn't see it till just then.

To be quite honest, none of my teachers ever got into that level of detail, much less what the term meant. (In fact, I had to look it up to understand what you were talking about).

For us (I mean our group, not aikidoka collectively), "focussed power" is intrinsic in the movements. The interesting thing about *how* we were taught is the way in which these things are "revealed" *when* you are ready. It reveals itself in the middle of the movement and it's as if a light goes on in your head.

Since it is intrinsic in the movement and the technique, there are points in the middle of the technique where you can *feel* that your body is in correct alignment, your posture is correct, your ma-ai is correct, your breathing is correct and your extension is correct etc. etc. There comes a point where all the elements of body, mind, spirit are in harmony, resulting in this "concentration of power".

And then you try to "find the feeling" again, only to find it eludes you, because your mind is no longer in harmony.