Pre-Aikido Training

Posted by: Koinu

Pre-Aikido Training - 05/19/05 11:02 PM

I'm a student at a university that offers a course in Aikido. I've registered to take it in the Fall, and I'm quite interested in it, taking the course and then continuing with training at a formal dojo. My question is, over this summer, what sort of training should I do to prepare? I'm slightly familiar with a lot of the techniques, but not so much on what will be going on during training. Should I focus on cardiovascular, endurance, weight training, body-resistance only training? Should I focus on upper-body, lower body, core, chest, or everything? I have no clue where to start, and I'd like to be ready for this when it happens. Thanks!
Posted by: eyrie

Re: Pre-Aikido Training - 05/19/05 11:49 PM

It's always interesting to see questions like this, because it just shows....that you can never be too prepared

Quote:

I'm slightly familiar with a lot of the techniques, but not so much on what will be going on during training.

Repeat after me, "I don't know anything. Please teach me.". How to prepare? Empty your cup first.

Quote:

Should I focus on cardiovascular, endurance, weight training, body-resistance only training?

If I could do it all over again? Cardiovascular endurance, flexibility and agility. Forget the rest.

Quote:

Should I focus on upper-body, lower body, core, chest, or everything?

Legs. Actually, the torso, from upper abs to your thighs.

Quote:

I have no clue where to start, and I'd like to be ready for this when it happens.

There's really no need to "prepare" as such. Just remember to relax and keep your posture upright. Move naturally, like you do in everyday life. Aikido is a reflection of life and nature. You are or you are not. There is nothing to "prepare".
Posted by: Diga

Re: Pre-Aikido Training - 05/20/05 01:37 AM

You will have fun in Aikido class espeially if you already know how to do a forward and backward roll.