Any secret techniques taught to only high ranks?

Posted by: Ninjasaurus

Any secret techniques taught to only high ranks? - 05/04/05 03:45 AM

ok i studied aikido from age 11 to 15 and I am thinking about coming back after a little break since school is calming down again.

My sensei taught us all kinds of techniques, and we practiced techniques beyond our ranks since we had gotten our basics down well and they could be used for the higher level techniques. I also saw demonstrations from my sensei and his sensei and they all seemed to use just variations of what we learned or more advanced techniques based off the basics of aikido.

I was just wondering if there are any more dangerous and complicated techniques that blackbelts only practice or teach in the presence of other high ranks that I would get to learn if I got higher in rank??
Posted by: AikiGhost

Re: Any secret techniques taught to only high rank - 05/04/05 10:00 AM

Sure jujigarami koshinage comes to mind
Posted by: Ninjasaurus

Re: Any secret techniques taught to only high rank - 05/04/05 12:52 PM

well its not so secret if you post it now is it but anways i think ive been taught that technique it sounds familiar
Posted by: rupert

Re: Any secret techniques taught to only high ranks? - 05/05/05 08:16 PM

Everything is secret until you learn it. And you only get to be a high grade when you are good at the techniques - therefore - the biggest secret is to be good at the techniques.
Posted by: Inuyasha

Re: Any secret techniques taught to only high rank - 05/05/05 08:46 PM

.............Its a secret
Posted by: eyrie

Re: Any secret techniques taught to only high rank - 05/06/05 07:28 AM

This from the horse's mouth:
"Progress comes to those who train and train; Reliance on secret techniques will get you nowhere".

- The Art of Peace (tr. John Stevens)

Having said that, the real secret of aikido is in the ukemi. Once you master the ukemi, you will have no problem mastering any technique.