Couple of generic questions.....

Posted by: Anonymous

Couple of generic questions..... - 04/11/05 01:49 AM

I just recently started Aikido and as I was trying to sleep a minute ago a few questions poped up in my mind, and thus I am here =]

My first question is of ettiquet, I have watched my sempai and done as they do (on the mat) but I am still concerned with how my relationship once class is over (off the mat) should be with my sensei? Also, should I say "Thank you Sensei" every time he helps me? These first few days I've needed alot of help from him and I think I must have said it over 30 times (hehe) should I keep on in this manner or just bow?

Also, I have about enough time to practise 4 or more days a week, does skipping a day or three really put any single student behind? I'm still a college student so I think I'm viewing my Aikido training with a syllabus type of mentality am I correct in doing so?

If I sound totally newbish, it's because I am. Not trying to offend anyone and Thanks to anyone for replying!

Oh yea, and about how many hours of class, plus practising outside atleast one hour, does it take to atleast be semi proficient and be able to do as sensei instructs with out feeling awkward or messing up (I know this answer will vary, but just trying to get a picture)

Many thanks again.

Re: Couple of generic questions..... - 04/11/05 02:24 AM

Oh ya, and about holding on to your partner do you guys use a firm grip or loosen it up? I found my self worried from time to time that I was holding my partner too tight (at times I'm way too paranoid about hurting anyone, especially my female sempai partners no offense but I'd hate to think of causing any person of the opposite sex pain)

And is it okay to see your steps in the begening like dance steps?

sorry I ask way to many questions and am completely obssesd, ha!

Re: Couple of generic questions..... - 04/11/05 03:24 AM

[QUOTE]Originally posted by AkhilleusWeeps: