Cross-training aikido and karate

Posted by: Anonymous

Cross-training aikido and karate - 12/28/04 08:15 PM

I have been doing Aikido for about 18mths and probably average 2-3times a week. It is a wonderful art and I enjoy very much and want to continue for a very long time. About 6 months ago I also resume karate training that I had done several years before - becasue I enjoy the katas and power of this art. I beleive they both are great and have a lot to offer. Recently my aikido sensei approached me and seemed quite disturbed and annoyed that I was cross-training and said that I should decide which path I want to follow - obviously I was upset with this remark. Maybe he is right and atleast had a few years foundation in one stykle instead of trying to learn both at once when I am fairly new to both. Do people beleive that I am wrong for doing this when I personally am really enjoying both the styles and people that I have met.
Posted by: schanne

Re: Cross-training aikido and karate - 12/29/04 10:05 AM

Your Sensei is correct. I too have other arts that get some of my attension but I have been doing this for about 30 years. In the begining it's important to focus on one particular type of MA. One or two years is not long enough, grasshopper, don't try to snatch the pebble yet. [IMG]http://www.fightingarts.com/forums/ubb/smile.gif[/IMG]

Re: Cross-training aikido and karate - 12/29/04 05:58 PM

The Chinese have a saying: "You cannot straddle two boats with one foot".

Your sensei is correct in advising you to choose one path. Your karate sensei would no doubt advise similarly.

My advice to you is to heed the advice of "one who has gone before" (i.e. "sensei")...choose a path and be true to it.

When you have sufficiently explored that path for at least 6-10 years, then decide if you want to stay the course or follow a different path. Be aware that, should you decide to change course, you will need to start from the beginning again.