To dedicate or not to dedicate

Posted by: Anonymous

To dedicate or not to dedicate - 10/25/04 04:23 PM

Hi all,

I've been practicing Aikido for a little more than two years and I'm currently a college student. I have reached a point where my training in Aikido has grasped me much more passionately than my college experience. My question is, given the opportunity to dedicate your life to the education and training in Aikido (most likely with an uchi-deshi program) with the end goal of owning and opperating a dojo would you take it? I feel that if I continue to attend college and practice Aikido at the same time I will never fully dedicate myself to either discipline. As the saying goes "A Jack of all trades is a Master of none", what do I do when I don't feel that I will be content with being the Jack of all trades?
Any thoughts or ideas will be greatly appreciated!!

Thanks,
Mike
Posted by: mugen

Re: To dedicate or not to dedicate - 10/26/04 12:52 AM

I experience the exact same situation as you and I often ask myself the very same question. I think that I would be a much more valuable asset and contributor to the Aikido community if I finish my education and earn a comfortable and steady income. It really depends on your own priorities though. Mine are 1. family 2. job 3. Aikido. Just go with what you believe, but dedicate and focus all your energy into it and you cant fail

Re: To dedicate or not to dedicate - 10/26/04 03:16 AM

If you think you can make a living teaching Aikido with out a college education you are delusional. Even if you go through a uchi-deshi program, what will your rank be? Why would any one pay a 20 something nidan enough money for you to make rent and pay your bills, plus health care and other expenses, when they could train with a 6th degree black belt with 20 years experience. I would suggest getting your degree now. Aikido will always be there.

Re: To dedicate or not to dedicate - 10/26/04 07:41 AM

Hey guys,