Introductions

Posted by: Joe Jutsu

Introductions - 10/09/03 10:56 PM

Hello everybody. It occurred to me that I know very little about the people who regularly post on this board. I'm not looking for name and address and bank account number or anything... [IMG]http://www.fightingarts.com/forums/ubb/biggrin.gif[/IMG] I was just wondering what martial arts you study i.e. what style of aikido. Were you limited to maybe one style in your area, or did you have choices? Why have you stayed in or left aikido? What rank/how long have you been practicing aikido or your preferred martial art. I'll start...

Hi. My name is Joe, and I'm a martial artist (the rest of the group says, 'hi Joe!') I've been studying aikido for a little over two years, and it's the only martial art I've ever taken. I'm testing for sankyu in about two weeks, but I'm not very worried about it because I've been told that I've been ready for awhile, but testing only comes up about two or three times a year, less if you are testing for dan rankings. The style I study is shin shin toitsu aikido, or ki society for short. It is the only style in my town, but there are others within about a half an hour drive away. I feel lucky to be invovled in a very strong dojo. My head sensei, though a hard ass, is a really good teacher, as evident when watching some of his senior students. We are also very lucky to have our national cheif instructor Kashiwaya sensei come two the area at least two times a year, but often more. I started aikido because I wanted to be better able to defend myself. What I found were many techniques that take years to master, but I found my increased awareness and confidence a major help right away. After a couple of years, I find myself caring less about the martial side, though first and foremost I train martially. I've just become sort of more patient you could say. The techniques will come in time, and I have a few tried and true techniques to fall back on [IMG]http://www.fightingarts.c