Musul, Yusul, Haesul

Posted by: Yugen83

Musul, Yusul, Haesul - 10/20/08 10:05 AM

It has been brought to my attention that the suffix "Do" is not a Korean word, but a Japanese word and that its use is a sure sign that what you are practicing is not an old indigenous Korean martial art, but a Korean version of a Japanese martial art. The Koreans do not use "Do" or "Jutsu", but rather the suffixes "Musul", "Yusul", and "Haesul". While I certainly understand the logic behind it, I am no expert on Korean martial arts, so I would like to know what the resident Korean martial artists think about this claim. I personally think that it is a matter of semantics, but again, I am no expert on the KMA and my opinion is probably far out in left feild somewhere.
Posted by: DarkPhoenix

Re: Musul, Yusul, Haesul - 10/20/08 11:21 AM

I though the Korean form of "do" meant Disciple, not way.

Re: Musul, Yusul, Haesul - 10/21/08 03:46 AM

Quote:

I though the Korean form of "do" meant Disciple, not way.

It probably does, again, I am no expert on the Korean arts. My main reason for starting this thread was to find out if, in fact, the story that was presented to me by a colleague holds any weight. She told me that the convention "Do" doesn't appear in any Korean martial arts prior to the Japanese occupation and that the very word "Do" isn't even a Korean word to begin with, but a Japanese one. I am not qualified to state whether such a thing is true or false, as my knowledge of the Korean arts is limited to some research in TKD only, so I figured that the KMA-ers on FA.com might be able to shed some light on this issue. BTW, thanks for your response. Given my track record on this forum, I didn't think anyone would even take my thread seriously .
Posted by: DarkPhoenix

Re: Musul, Yusul, Haesul - 10/21/08 10:40 AM