Cutting down the tree

Posted by: RazorFoot

Cutting down the tree - 01/03/08 02:14 PM

I am a TKD stylist and have been for some time. In most of my years of training, I wasn't taught to attack the legs, which actually confused me quite a bit. If the legs were a kickers greatest weapons, and we were kickers, wouldn't it make sense to take that weapon away?

Over the last 10 years or so, I have had the benefit of training techniques designed to destroy the base or cut down the tree. I am not talking about traps and sweeps, but strikes or submissions designed to put that kicking leg out of commision.

As a TKD stylist, do you train in leg destruction techniques and/or how to defend against them?
Posted by: flynch

Re: Cutting down the tree - 01/03/08 06:12 PM

In class we do not train leg destruction we are limited to the occassional sweep to the back of the knee. I say ocassional because it is not a regular part of sparring but maybe a couple of times a year it is reveiwed and drilled. The story given is that it is mainly for safety reasons.

We don't deal with submissions of or strikes to the legs

I do try to train outside of class on low kicks as I feel it is an important aspect. I do see some people who always kick high. There seems to be this need to always kick to the head so much so that you always know were the kick is going to be. You just have to keep your hands up and or even just stay out of range (ie be inside or outside)
Posted by: TeK9

Re: Cutting down the tree - 01/03/08 07:15 PM

I've been doing leg destructions ever since I first started my martial arts training under Moo Duk Kwan. Now I train all sort of destructions for both hand and legs attacks. I have no blocks in my system. I no longer see attacks I see targets. As someone with a JKD background Scottie you can relate I'm sure.

For low line kicks I use my knees for high line I use elbows.