How young is to young?

Posted by: dinodude73

How young is to young? - 11/10/06 02:45 PM

I am an apprentice instructor at a Tae-Kwon-Do dojang and I was asked to weigh in on an issue:
How old should someone be before joining classes?
this question comes on the heels of a few kids wanting to sign up and they are only 4 and 5.
what do you guys think? all comments are welcome
Posted by: MattJ

Re: How young is to young? - 11/10/06 02:59 PM

Posted by: Ronin1966

Re: How young is to young? - 11/10/06 05:29 PM

Hello Dinodude:

If you were asked to "weigh-in" on this issue then what are YOUR views on the topic ???

Simply as a BUSINESS idea 4 or 5 year old students are definately one ~market~ In terms of bone-fide martial arts instruction... that is a very different question however . They can and do learn martial things, but literally only the smallest taste, a hint of the real picture. At such a young age ~reality~ is not entirely certain yet... and hey they are 4 or 5 right?

Depending SPECIFICALLY on the presentation type/kind
/atmosphere a very young age is possible. However, at that young an age, it will be "sneaky teaching"... and contine to be so for several years. Hidden lessons, drills and exercises for learning by concealed repetitions, rather than by outright rote.

"Serious study" won't happen (and probably should not) for a very long time if that young. Can they study even that young... certainly, but it will only be a taste of the flavor, a droplet of the true receipe in its complete longer form...

Myself, if forced to choose a random number.... I'd pick the 7-9 age range . You are not being a baby sitter and by that age they can understand far, far more. Capable of classroom learning and appropriate group behavior....

Jeff
Posted by: dinodude73

Re: How young is to young? - 11/10/06 11:21 PM

Thank you ronin I personally think that they are to young to practice any kind of stuctured activity let alone the martial arts.