ok different topic......Im new at tkd

Posted by: Zeta

ok different topic......Im new at tkd - 07/31/06 02:15 AM

im kinda new so im going to ask about tkd so please if you can answer these questions

1.What stretchs do i need to do

2.what exercises help

3.how can i learn to jump higher than 2 feet up

4. (this has botherd me)do flips have anything to do with tkd

and last

5.what are some basic technequis
Posted by: TeK9

Re: ok different topic......Im new at tkd - 07/31/06 08:49 AM

Hi

There are so many different kinds of stretces that it's just not worth going into it. However, any book on martial arts especially taekwondo wil demonstrate stretches usually within the second or third chapter. Usually right after they are done detailing the history of TKD. But I wll sy this.

Taekwondo today is predominantly a kicking art, so your going to want to stretch your legs out a lot. This usually involves trying to spread your legs out into the splits position.

Don't worry about the stretches it's the first thing you learn, you never start class without basic stretches.

Push ups, sit ups, crunches, knee lifts, squats with no weights. These help, doing squats will really help develop your leg muscles. A very important exercise is jump rope. This helps build up your stamina and endurance. Getsyour heart rate up to get you in shape for those sparring matches.

Learning how to jump high requires that you jump. As you build muscles in your legs you should be able to jump higher. Sometimes setting small goals fr youself helps. In the old days of TKD they had what was called a horse. Basically it was a wooden wall that practicioners would jump over. It was used to help with the flying kicks. Now adays what some people do is they use those heavy hand held kicking pads. The real thick pads that are nearly a foot in width. You can stack them up on the floor and try to jump over them. That way if you knock them down, you don't get hurt.