ATA #2

Posted by: MLA

ATA #2 - 03/10/06 10:59 AM

Hello...

I'm an adult white belt in my local ATA academy, and I continue to have questions galore. For those who've shared their thoughts on ATA before, note that I'm resorting to forum posts for my answers. I suppose I should/could ask the following questions of my instructor, but there never seems to be time before, during, or after class. I feel I've been a good student so far...very attentive and motivated in and out class. I stretch before, after, and between classes, work out and practice between classes, and read and research to (try to) find answers to my questions. But I still have some lingering questions about what the h*ck I'm doing:

Yesterday, after my fifth class, I received a fourth stripe (black electrical tape) on my white belt. I have no idea what any of the stripes symbolize. Online, I've found ATA academy's that are more forthcoming with information about requirements than mine is (mine suggested I purchase the book or DVD for $25). I see that White Belt Testing Requirements are:

A. Basics & kicks: First stripe

1. High block, low block, inner forearm block (I know these)
2. Front punch, reverse punch, knife hand strike (I know these)
3. #1, #2, #3, #4 front kicks; #1, #2, #3, #4 side kicks (AFAIK, I know one front kick, and one side kick...what's with all the #'s? There are four front kicks and four side kicks to learn? If earning my first stripe is contingent on this, then I shouldn't have my first stripe, in my opinion. What do y'all think?)

4. Memorize the Songahm Spirit of Taekwondo (I still can't recite this from memory, though I'm getting better with practice. Again, if the first stripe is contingent on memorizing this, then I don't think I've earned it yet.)

B. Form: Second stripe

1. Songahm 1 (Il Jang), 18 moves (I've practiced this on my own, from instruction sheets I've downloaded off the web, and have never been asked to try it in class; should I have my second stripe?)