Anyone get nervous before class starts?

Posted by: Mr_Heretik

Anyone get nervous before class starts? - 01/08/06 04:07 AM

I've been going to my dojang for 8 months now (green belt) and I still get butterflies in my stomach before class starts. Its not that I fear anything or that I'm not confident, but I don't know what it is. Some of my friends tell me they get it too. Anyone else get this? Why do you think it happens?
Posted by: Leo_E_49

Re: Anyone get nervous before class starts? - 01/08/06 04:19 AM

I've been doing martial arts for 16 years and I still get butterflies in my stomach before some classes (especially gradings). It's a sign that you really care about what you're doing and that you'll take it seriously. Don't worry about it.
Posted by: Dereck

Re: Anyone get nervous before class starts? - 01/08/06 05:51 AM

Yup. Sometimes I want to stay home because I fear what will happen but am always glad I go to find out I survived. Butterflies before testing all of the time.
Posted by: TeK9

Re: Anyone get nervous before class starts? - 01/08/06 07:55 AM

Not exactly sure if my butterflies are the same as yours but I get nervous because I'm an asthmatic and my school trains athletes for competition so we do constant drills that require constant movement. Even though I gotten through many practices for many years, if I were to take say 2 weeks off from practice, I'd probably start hyperventalating during class breaks which would lead to minor or major asthma attacks. And when your trying to keep up with elite athletes it gets embarressing to stop and pull out the spray inhalent. Then again it is all in my mind.

"Do or do not...there is no try"
Posted by: JasonM

Re: Anyone get nervous before class starts? - 01/08/06 10:21 AM

Ditto, I get them too and after going to class I was happy the butterflies didnt' win and i stayed home..:)
Posted by: gojuwarrior1

Re: Anyone get nervous before class starts? - 01/08/06 11:05 AM