Training tips

Posted by: Anonymous

Training tips - 09/02/04 11:00 PM

Hiya. I've been reading these forums for a few days now, but this is my first time posting, so be nice. Anyways, I've been practicing Tae Kwon Do now for...almost a week, but I want to catch this stuff early. Specifically, I want tips about what people wished they had done early on or problems they had that I should avoid.

One other thing, I'm not all that picky about internet grammar, but please at least use periods. I don't want replies that hurt my eyes to read. Some of the threads I've been to are pretty bad about that.

Re: Training tips - 09/03/04 12:02 AM

The only mistake that you can make is to quit. I started about 10 years ago, climbed all but 4 belts from black and quit. I returned to the art, and had to re-learn everything that I once knew like the back of my hand.

In case you didn't know, "do" refers to the way. You'll find your own way in life and in TKD. Just keep faith in what your doing and training at......DONT QUIT.
Posted by: eternalpunk

Re: Training tips - 09/03/04 01:41 PM

Another thing that might help, is to pay attention to everything that the instructor teaches you. They aren't teaching things just for their health. Something that I still do even though I stopped taking traditional TKD classes is that I make time to stretch everyday. I just sit in front of the t.v. and hold one stretch for 10 minutes then move on to the next. It generally takes me about 2 hours.

Re: Training tips - 09/03/04 04:42 PM

martial arts training always has 2 flaws in my honest opinion (which you asked for so your getting!)

the first being the dump