Taekwondo Contract--Help Needed

Posted by: Anonymous

Taekwondo Contract--Help Needed - 08/01/04 11:47 AM

I need some help. I've been studying TKD for about six months. I was stupid and an idiot, and I signed a contract. I pay $160/month for this thing, and I honestly feel I'm not learning. I mean, I know forms and stuff, but for me, martial arts should be about self-defense and a deep understanding of yourself. This isn't working for me.

Can you guys think of any way I can ask them to cancel my contract?

I could really use some advice on this.

Thanks.
Searcher

Re: Taekwondo Contract--Help Needed - 08/01/04 06:19 PM

i would make sure you read every inch of the contract and look for a get out clause. if theres not an obvious one then maybe present your grievance to the governing council of the form your studying.

then find a dojang that doesnt require contracts.

sounds to me...on a very loose observation...that your instructor is maybe not good enough or confident enough to be able to keep their students therefore has to pin them to a contract.

contracts can be legally binding, unless a higher power (such as a governing council) interveens....but even then a contracts a contract

hope you get it sorted, and TKD CAN be what your looking for....you just need the correct instructor

Re: Taekwondo Contract--Help Needed - 08/18/04 01:09 AM

Hi Searcher,
Well, while I am not a big advocate of canceling contracts - I would be a hipocrite if I said I've never done what you wish to do as I had to do it last week. Consider is it that you haven't spent enough time at the school? Evalauate your reasons before taking action.