why teakwondo consists of little grappling

Posted by: Anonymous

why teakwondo consists of little grappling - 06/28/04 06:14 AM

I have been training tkd for 10 years. For the period of 10 years, i have been training with other teakwondo associations and also with some military students. As I have been practising this art, I noticed that there is not a single grappling method. Why?
Posted by: schanne

Re: why teakwondo consists of little grappling - 06/28/04 07:35 AM

Grapplin wasn't popular until Gracie brought it her a few years back in the UFC.
Posted by: cxt

Re: why teakwondo consists of little grappling - 06/28/04 08:50 AM

Vicky

That may be TKD current incarnation.

But back in the 70's and 80's TKD had soem to alot of grappling--depending on which school.

Most (most NOT all) of current TKD seems (seems NOT is) geared for Olympic type sparring where grappling is not allowed.

Kinda the same reason most judo schools don't teach strikeing much anymore (an dthey used too)--its not used in competiton.
Posted by: Rand

Re: why teakwondo consists of little grappling - 06/28/04 01:52 PM

that is why i wrestle for my school it teaches grappling and i train in tae kwon do for striking

Re: why teakwondo consists of little grappling - 06/29/04 12:48 PM

[QUOTE]Originally posted by cxt:

Vicky

That may be TKD current incarnation.

But back in the 70's and 80's TKD had soem to alot of grappling--depending on which school.

Most (most NOT all) of current TKD seems (seems NOT is) geared for Olympic type sparring where grappling is not allowed.

Kinda the same reason most judo schools don't teach strikeing much anymore (an dthey used too)--its not used in competiton.
[/QUOTE]

I never saw any Korean schools in the 70-80 that had grappling? It didn't get POPULAR until Gracie brought it out of the closet in the UFC. I"m sure, to cover my ass that there were a few schools around but nothing like it is today.
Posted by: Lokkan-Do