Way of the Hand and Fist.

Posted by: FourNobleTruths

Way of the Hand and Fist. - 06/07/04 10:47 PM

Hello, and thank you for taking the time in reading my post. I am new to the message board and have been training in Tae Kwon Do for a total of about a year and a half. First off, I really like Tae Kwon Do. It is great exercise and has increased my stamina, which is great, since I leave for basic training in August. In my limited experiance with TKD I have had some troubling thoughts when it comes to the confines of the system. I don't know if I am the only one who feels this way but does anyone out there think that TKD limits the growth of creativity? I also feel that all that I am training for when it comes to actual combat application is learning how to score a point on a person. There are so many techniques within the system to learn. But, when it comes down to it, I feel that by learning all these techniques which ones will really become automatic, or without thought, when it comes down to defending myself? I am an honest believer that all Martial Artist, regardless of style, are training to defend themselves when the need arise. This is just my general thoughts so far. Thanks again.

Metta,
Christian
Posted by: Anonymous

Re: Way of the Hand and Fist. - 07/22/04 11:34 AM

Welcome to the TKD community. Don't worry, i'm sure there are many people that think the same as yourself. Your progress and your barriers lie with you. In my view, TKD is a building block and i have aikido and kung fu in my belt to compare with and add their movements into TKD. Many people like to stay with TKD as they feel this sufficient enough to defend themselves, etc. Many like to have as much experience as they can in the martial art world by learning different arts. What i'm trying to say is, you are the best judge for your progress

Re: Way of the Hand and Fist. - 07/22/04 05:00 PM

absolutely.