Effectiveness

Posted by: Anonymous

Effectiveness - 05/16/04 05:29 AM

I'm new to the forums and glad to be here, I recently got into TKD and love it. And am glad there is a place where we can discuss things about martial arts.......Ok enough of that. I'm a pretty tall guy, 6'2, have always been tall and for some reason have used kicks and sweeps in fights since I was a kid. Granted, I was fighting for stupid reasons, but since I was tall I always viewed the leg as a great weapon since my upper body wasn't super strong and the legs could keep an attacker at bay. I was inerested in TKD ever since I learned about how much the legs were used and since I liked to kick, I figured it was perfect for me. I read alot of things, I mean alot of things about how TKD would not be effective in a street situation, or say it's a dumb martial art to learn, or it's all flash. I find all of that rubbish and biased..seeing how I am a martial artist and respect I value and therefore I respect all forms and find them all good in their own ways. I say all that to come to this conclusion, I feel, that the effectiveness of ANY martial art relies on the person doing it and their own personal capacity to learn and apply the techniques.......Also, I don't look forward to fighting so I could care less if I can snap arms like twigs because in a street situation, hopefully it is a street level thug fool who knows nothing of martial arts, so pretty much any style would work. I mean, they could know martial arts, but why would a martial artist be attacking someone for no reason, they have no honor if that is the case. And with TKD, yes, there are many, many, many kicks that in a real situation probably would not work, and a skilled street fighter could avoid them.......but......just go with the basics and it should be fine, I feel the things I learned on my first days of class are even good enough to use, if executed properly to defend yourself. But also think of the adrenalin dump thing also, an