Evolution of TKD

Posted by: mrhubbs

Evolution of TKD - 11/20/03 10:17 AM

I am a high school teacher and a traditional Japanese martial artist. I have a student who is a very accomplished Olympic TKD competitor (junior Olympian). He mentioned to me that his instructor's instructor is S. Henry Cho out of Manhattan.

Now my father/instructor used to go to Cho's dojang in Manhattan in the 60's to work on his kicking techniques and for nostalgia's sake bought a copy of Cho's text "Korean Karate" (or something like that). (He had/has a great deal of respect for Cho's abilities.)

The kicking and punching techniques in this book look VERY Japanese - almost Shotokan like. I wonder if someone could talk me through a bit of the evolution of this system and how TKD came to look so different today. This is not a value judgment but I think Shotokan and TKD kicking look very different these days, particularly the Olympic stylists. Are instructor's like Cho teaching techniques differently nowadays and how did this come to be? Who pioneered such efforts? Are such changes strictly sport oriented?

Thanks for the input?

David
Posted by: Anonymous

Re: Evolution of TKD - 11/20/03 12:37 PM

Founders of tkd had belts in shotokan,that is why originaly looked like shotokan.

Like any martial art, the culture practiced in affects it.Karate was okinawan, when it moved over to japan,became japanese-so japanese karate looks different than okinawan.So when japanese style moved over to korea, became korean.

Sorry, can't give specifics-try looking at several tkd sites on net,do google search, etc.
Posted by: Anonymous

Re: Evolution of TKD - 11/20/03 12:41 PM

www.sos.mtu.edu/husky/tkdhist.htm

interesting take on history of tkd, might be biased.
Posted by: cxt

Re: Evolution of TKD - 11/24/03 01:43 PM

Founders of TKD had advanced ranks in a couple of arts-shotokan, shudokan, etc.

In the early days of the Korean MA movement its was even sometimes called "Kong Soo/Su Do"