I want to just clear this up with everyone about kicks in TKD.

Posted by: Tkdstreetfighter88

I want to just clear this up with everyone about kicks in TKD. - 06/19/03 08:28 PM

I have already posted this in the tkd or jujitsu topic but i would like to put it out there because it is very important and everyone seems to be putting TKD with high kicks. I didnt post this in the why does tkd have high kicks section because i doubt anyone goes into that one anymore i know i dont.

Ok many of you think of high fancy kicks when you think about Tae Kwon Do.

People seem to think it is weak because of this one reason. Truth is Tkd is one of the most powerful martial arts you can learn, I never thought so until i started taking it.
See im training to be a pro Full contact fighter im going to train hard for another 4-5 years until i really start to compete, reason being i know im not ready im just learning everything i possibly can reason being why i post and read on this forum.I have trained in boxing, muay thai,

I have also learned a good amount of jujitsu from my friend but nothing had helped my power, speed, stanima, and defensive skills as Tae Kwon Do did.

and now i will get to why im posting this

Why do we learn high kicks in tae kwon do?
I thought about it and when i finally figured it out i asked my master and gave him my answer, to my suprise he smiled, patted me on the back and said he never had anyone figure this out on their own.

You constantly stretch and learn high kicks not to try to kick someone in the head far from it. (Even though i have found that snap kicks/jump snap kicks are an excellent knock out shot, do there devestation speed and anyone who has tryed to catch a full powered snap kick knows this. A powerful snap kick to opponents throat or jaw is very effective. You should only use it if you can snap kick a good 6 inches above the opponents jaw.)