Tae kwon do Blocks/Moves On The Net?

Posted by: Wait4MeKitten

Tae kwon do Blocks/Moves On The Net? - 05/31/03 07:23 PM

Hi everyone, I'm a TKD newbie and trying to learn all the basic moves. I apologize in advance that I don't know all the terminology. [IMG]http://www.fightingarts.com/forums/ubb/smile.gif[/IMG] But basically I'm trying to find a place on the net that has a picture of each of the block moves, the ones that you normally do after the punches while in tiger stance?

I take the classes 3x a week and have a friend that's a black belt but its still hard for me to memorize the moves at my slower pace. I figured if I could see them on the net I could practice at home so the next time I went in to class I wouldn't be such a bumbling dork. [IMG]http://www.fightingarts.com/forums/ubb/smile.gif[/IMG] I've been searching on the net for this but so far haven't found anything with pictures.

Thanks for your help [IMG]http://www.fightingarts.com/forums/ubb/smile.gif[/IMG]
Posted by: Anonymous

Re: Tae kwon do Blocks/Moves On The Net? - 05/31/03 09:16 PM

Attempting to learn martial arts movement from pictures,videos, etc is not a good ideal. They cannot provide the feedback necessary to properly learn the movement.
Attempting to learn from a book,pictures,etc can lead to bad habits that you will have to unlearn.
Don't worry, everyone who practices feels like a bumbling dork at one time or another.
Posted by: UKfightfreak

Re: Tae kwon do Blocks/Moves On The Net? - 06/01/03 07:56 AM

To be honest, I think you would be better taking along a pad and paper and after the session quickly jotting down a few notes - in fact do it now, I bet you will be suprised how much you remember!

From doing this you can then go back and ask questions, to make sure your notes are right.

Then practice.

Also I am sure you can remember a few moves, get those perfect and then the next few and then the next few and so on.